Like Skeins Through the Hourglass…

OKC 2011

Posted on: 26 February 2011

We made our first trek to Oklahoma City this year for an annual trade show that Justin’s new company puts on. It was a long, dark drive last Friday night, but we made it to the hotel intact and were just happy to be able to sleep in a little the next morning! His trade show lasted until 3:30 on Saturday, so I dropped him off and then went back to the hotel and knit like a fiend on my purple ‘Springfield Bandit’ shawl, almost finishing it before I had to get us checked out. I headed over to Panera for some lunch (Yum!) then up to the Gourmet Yarn Co on the North side of town. This little shop was amazing! I loved their selection of heavier premium yarns (something lacking here in Springfield) and the size of the shop as well! I looked around and made my little purchase then was happily welcomed to sit and knit until I had to go pick up Justin. Everyone was so nice and genuinely interested in what I was working on and I had one of my best LYS experiences that day. I finished my shawl and was so excited I could barely contain myself! Soon after, Justin called that they were getting out early so I picked him up and we headed for Tulsa.

In Tulsa, we finally got to meet our 4-month old niece, Emily. She is so cute, and such a good, quiet baby! It was great to spend time with my MIL, SIL and her family again and I hope we can meet up again soon.

All-in-all, last weekend’s trip was relaxing and much-needed, even with the long drives and spending $16 on Oklahoma tolls. I’m glad we got to do it, but I am also glad that we don’t have many plans for the next few weeks! I need to get the taxes and some unpacking done! 🙂

Leave a Reply

